Hypochlorous Acid

HOCl

它是人体产生的一种用来保护和治疗的氧化剂,了解它为什么被认为是自然界中的杀菌剂。 

关于次氯酸 - HOCl 

什么是HOCl? 

要闻速览 

  • HOCl是次氯酸的科学配方,是一种类似于温和柑橘汁的弱酸。 
  • HOCl由所有哺乳动物中的白血细胞自然制成,用于治疗和保护。 
  • HOCl是一种有效对抗入侵细菌,真菌和病毒的强效氧化剂。 
  • 20世纪70年代发现了可以通过电解盐水溶液生成HOCl。 
  • HOCl现在用于医疗保健,食品安全,水处理和一般卫生消毒。 
  • HOCl是如何制造的? 

    电解的历史 

  • 迈克尔法拉第创立了电解法则,并于19世纪70年代投入市场。 
  • 20世纪70年代开发了由盐水的电化学活化(ECA)法以产生HOCl。 
  • 早期的ECA技术使用膜迫使盐水形成两种HOCl和NaOH溶液。 
  • 在20世纪80年代,开发了单流体系,生产了一种无副产物的HOCl溶液。 
  • 最近,单流系统已经创新,可以有持续更长时间并更稳定的解决方案。 
  • 为什么HOCl能更有效杀死病原体? 

    次氯酸(HOCl)与次氯酸钠(氯漂白剂) 

    次氯酸根离子携带负电荷,而次氯酸不携带电荷。 次氯酸可以快速移动,能够在几秒钟内氧化细菌,而次氯酸根离子可能需要半小时才能完成相同进展。 细菌表面带有负电荷,导致带负电的次氯酸根离子和细菌表面区域互相排斥, 所以次氯酸根离子杀死细菌的效果较差。 两种化合物的比例由水的酸碱度(pH)决定。 水处理专家可以调节pH水平,使次氯酸更占优势,它可以更有效地杀死细菌。 次氯酸缺乏电荷使其能够更有效地穿透细菌周围的防护屏障。 

    家用HOCl 

      家用电解系统 
    有几种家用电解系统已经被开发出来,可以使用食盐和水生成稳定的次氯酸。 有时可以加入蒸馏醋以降低pH值,形成允许次氯酸分子占主导地位的游离氯溶液。 选择家用系统时,需要考虑的重要因素是电解槽的质量。 电解槽中用于制造电池的合金的耐用性不同,更高质量的系统可能花费更多,但可以使用更长时间。 

      有什么好处? 
    次氯酸与氯漂白剂不同,100%安全且无刺激性。 如果它落在你的皮肤或眼睛上,不会灼伤。 即使意外摄取,也完全无害。 而且,杀灭微生物病原体的效率比含氯漂白剂高70-80倍。 

      它可以在哪里使用? 
    在家中,次氯酸任何需要消毒剂且使用有毒化学品会很不舒服的地方都很有用 一个完美的例子是在厨房里。不用水冲洗绿叶蔬菜,而是用次氯酸。 或者对于像牙刷或剃刀这样的麻烦物品,次氯酸是安全的。 想要在不损坏衣物的情况下对衣物进行消毒,次氯酸就是答案。 

    虽然次氯酸通常不会引起漂白或变色,但是一些低质量的染料在接触次氯酸时可能会渗出。

    HOCl的商业用途 

      膜电解电解 
    过去20年来,产生次氯酸的技术已经发生了巨大的变化。 过去市场主要采用膜电解电解技术,该技术使用高压迫使盐水形成两股分开的流,酸性流和碱性流。 酸性流将包含次氯酸(HOCl),阳极电解液或氧化剂,碱性流将包含氢氧化钠(NaOH),阴极电解液或还原剂。 这些系统的好处是生成了两个有用的物质,一个消毒剂和一个脱脂剂。 这些系统的缺点是它们昂贵,需要高维护成本,并且会产生不稳定的溶液,在短时间内失去氧化还原电位(ORP)。 

      单细胞电解 
    随着单细胞电解的发展,这些障碍都被克服了。 单细胞电解不在膜上使用高压,因此几乎不需要维护。 并且因为单电池电解不会迫使盐水进入两个相反的氧化还原电位和相反的pH值, 会产生一个更稳定的解决方案,这个解决方案非常稳定,不会寻求重新获得均衡。 单细胞系统只能生成一种溶液,一种pH范围为5至7的阳极电解液。 就作为消毒剂的稳定性和有效性而言,该pH范围对于次氯酸是最佳的。 

    如果长时间浸入高浓度的次氯酸(> 200 ppm),不锈钢也会受到腐蚀。

    食品安全 

    在食品安全领域已有关于次氯酸大部分的实际应用 自2011年“食品安全现代化法案”(FSMA)签署成为法律以来,食品安全的重点已从应对污染转移到预防。 很有可能没有比次氯酸更容易理解且有更多研究成果的食品卫生消毒剂了。 该研究清楚地表明,次氯酸是安全有效的,确保微生物计数在食品和接触表面上维持在低于感染水平。 

      表面卫生 

      次氯酸与季铵(Quats) 
    在食品接触表面消毒时,次氯酸比Quats等化学品具有优势,因为Quats在食品上不安全。 在使用Quats清洁之前,必须在清洁开始前从该区域清除所有食物。 使用次氯酸时这不是必需的。 无论食物是否暴露,次氯酸都可以在整个工作日内连续使用。 

      直接食品卫生 

      次氯酸与臭氧 
    次氯酸比臭氧有优势。臭氧是一种气体,在溶液中不稳定,因此不能用于消毒接触表面。 然而,臭氧用于食品卫生时,必须持续不断地供应,因为它不断地会释放到空气中。 由于臭氧对肺部和呼吸道有刺激作用,因此臭氧的使用浓度有限, 因此限制了杀死微生物病原体可获得的氧化电位。 次氯酸是无刺激性的并且在溶液中也是稳定的。 次氯酸可以高浓度(60 ppm)用于食品卫生,不需要消毒后冲洗。 

    FDA的食品接触通知1811允许次氯酸用于原料或加工过的果蔬,鱼类和海鲜,肉类,家禽和蛋类,含量最高可达60 ppm。 Sanitizing Leafy Greens
     EcoloxTech
       Learn more about HOCl

Hypochlorous Acid

HOCl

An oxidant the human body produces to protect and heal, learn why it's now considered nature's germ killer. 

About Hypochlorous Acid - HOCl 

What is HOCl? 

Quick Facts 

  • HOCl is the scientific formula for hypochlorous acid, a weak acid similar to that of a mild citrus juice. 
  • HOCl is made naturally by white blood cells in all mammals for healing and protection. 
  • HOCl is a powerful oxidant that is effective against invading bacteria, fungi, and viruses. 
  • Generating HOCl by running electricity through a solution of saltwater was discovered in 1970s. 
  • HOCl is now used in healthcare, food safety, water treatment, and general sanitation. 
  • How is HOCl made? 

    History of Electrolysis 

  • Michael Faraday founded the laws of electrolysis and it became commercially available in the 1870s. 
  • Generating HOCl from the electro-chemical activation (ECA) of salt water was developed in the 1970s. 
  • Early ECA technology used membranes to force saltwater into two solutions of HOCl and NaOH. 
  • In the 1980s, single stream systems were developed that produced one solution of HOCl without byproduct. 
  • In recent, single stream systems have been innovated to last longer and generate more stable solutions. 
  • Why is HOCl more efficient at killing pathogens? 

    Hypochlorous Acid (HOCl) vs. Sodium Hypochlorite (Chlorine Bleach) 

    Hypochlorite ion carries a negative electrical charge, while hypochlorous acid carries no electrical charge. The hypochlorous acid moves quickly, able to oxidize the bacteria in a matter of seconds, while the hypochlorite ion might take up to a half hour to do the same. Germ surfaces carry a negative electrical charge which results in a repulsion of the negatively charged hypochlorite ion to the area of the germ surfaces, making hypochlorite ion less effective at killing germs. The ratio of the two compounds is determined by the relative acidity (pH) of the water. Water treatment specialists can adjust the pH level to make hypochlorous acid more dominate, as it is more efficient at killing bacteria. The hypochlorous acid's lack of electrical charge allows it to more efficiently penetrate the protective barriers surrounding germs. 

    Home use of HOCl 

      Home Electrolysis Systems 
    There are several home electrolysis systems that have been developed that can generate stable hypochlorous acid using table salt and water. Distilled vinegar is sometimes added to lower the pH allowing for a solution of free chlorine more dominated by the hypochlorous acid molecule. When choosing a home system, an important factor to consider is the quality of the electrolysis cell. Higher quality systems may cost more but will last much longer due to the durability of the alloys in the metals used to make the cells. 

      What are the benefits? 
    Hypochlorous acid, unlike chlorine bleach, is 100% safe and non-irritant. If it gets on your skin or in your eyes, it will not burn. Even if it were accidentally ingested, it is completely harmless. Yet, it is 70-80 times more efficient at killing microbial pathogens than chlorine bleach. 

      Where can it be used? 
    In the home, hypochlorous acid is useful anywhere you need a sanitizer but don't feel comfortable using a toxic chemical. A perfect example is in the kitchen. Instead of rinsing leafy greens with water, use hypochlorous acid. Or for pesonal items such as toothbrushes or razors, hypochlorous acid is safe. Want to sanitize laundry without damaging or discoloring clothing, hypochlorous acid is the answer. 

    Although hypochlorous acid usually does not cause bleaching or discoloration, some lower quality dyes may bleed when exposed to hypochlorous acid.

    Commercial use of HOCl 

      Membrane Cell Electrolysis 
    The technology behind generating hypochlorous acid has evolved tremendously over the past 20 years. The market used to be dominated by membrane cell electrolysis that used high pressures to force saltwater into two separate streams, an acidic stream and an alkaline stream. The acidic stream would contain hypochlorous acid (HOCl), the anolyte or oxidizing agent, and the alkaline stream would contain sodium hydorixde (NaOH), the catholyte or reducing agent. The benefit of these systems were that two useful solutions were generated, a sanitizer and a degreaser. The downside of these systems were that they were expensive, required high maintenance, and would generate unstable solutions that lost their oxidation-reduction potential (ORP) within a short period of time. 

      Single Cell Electrolysis 
    With the development of single cell electrolysis, many of these obstacles were overcome. Single cell electrolysis does not use high pressures across a membrane therefore little to no maintenance is required. And because single cell electrolysis does not force the saltwater into two streams of opposite oxidation-reduction potential and opposite pH, a more stable solution is generated, a solution that is not seeking to regain an equilibrium. Single cell systems generate only one solution, an anolyte in the pH range of 5 to 7. This pH range is optimal for hypochlorous acid in regards to stability and effectiveness as a sanitizer. 

    Stainless steel can corrode as well if submersed in high concentrations of hypochlorous acid (>200 ppm) for extended periods of time.

    Food Safety 

    The majority of the research that has been done regarding the practical applications of hypochlorous acid has been in the field of food safety. Since the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) was signed into law in 2011, the focus of food safety has shifted from responding to contamination to preventing it. There is probably no food sanitizer more researched and more understood than hypochlorous acid. The research clearly demonstrates that hypochlorous acid is safe and efficient for ensuring microbial counts are maintained below infectious levels on food and contact surfaces. 

      Surface Sanitation 

      Hypochlorous Acid vs. Quaternary Ammonium (Quats) 
    Hypochlorous acid has advantages over chemicals such as Quats when sanitizing food contact surfaces because Quats are not safe on food. Before cleaning with Quats, all food must be removed from the area before sanitation can take place. This is not required when using hypochlorous acid. Hypochlorous acid can be used continuously throughout the work day regardless of whether food is exposed. 

      Direct Food Sanitation 

      Hypochlorous Acid vs. Ozone 
    Hypochlorous acid has advantages over ozone. Ozone is a gas and is not stable in solution therefore it cannot be used to sanitize contact surfaces. Ozone is however used for food sanitation however it must continuously be regenerated as it is continuously leaving solution into the air. Being that ozone is an irritant to the lungs and respiratory tracts, ozone is limited in the concentrations that can be used, therefore limiting the oxidation potential that can be obtained for killing microbial pathogens. Hypochlorous acid is non-irritant and is also stable in solution. Hypochlorous acid can be used at high concentrations (60 ppm) for food sanitation without requring a post-rinse. 

    The FDA Food Contact Notification 1811 allows for hypochlorous acid to be used on raw or processed fruits & vegetables, fish & seafood, meat, poultry and shell eggs at up to 60 ppm. Sanitizing Leafy Greens
     EcoloxTech
       Learn more about HOCl