Hypochlorous Acid

HOCl

هو عامل مؤكسد يُنتجه الجسم البشري للحماية والشفاء. تعلم لماذا أصبح الآن القاتل الطبيعي للجراثيم. 

حول حمض هيبوكلوروس - HOCI 

ما هو HOCI؟ 

حقائق سريعة 

  • HOCI هي الصيغة العلمية لحمض هيبوكلوروس، وهو حمض ضعيف يُشبه العصير قليل الحمضية. 
  • تقوم خلايا الدم البيضاء بإنتاج حمض هيبوكلوروس في جميع الثدييات للشفاء والحماية. 
  • HOCI هو مؤكسد قوي ذو كفاءة عالية في مُقاومة البكتيريا، الفطريات والفيروسات الغازية. 
  • تم اكتشاف عملية إنتاج حمض هيبوكلوروس من الماء المالح خلال سبعينيات القرن العشرين. 
  • يتم استخدام HOCI اليوم في الرعاية الصحية، سلامة الغذاء، مُعالجة المياه والتطهير العام. 
  • كيف يتم تصنيع حمض هيبوكلوروس؟ 

    تاريخ التحليل الكهربي 

  • وضع مايكل فاراداي قوانين التحليل الكهربي، وأصبح مُتاحاً بشكل تُجاري خلال سبعينيات القرن التاسع عشر. 
  • تم تطوير عملية إنتاج حمض هيبوكلوروس عبر التنشيط الكهرو-كيميائي (ECA) من الماء المالح خلال سبعينيات القرن العشرين. 
  • استخدمت تكنولوجيا التنشيط الكهرو-كيميائي إبان بدايتها الأغشية لإجبار الماء المالح للانقسام إلى محلولين، هما HOCI و NaOH. 
  • وخلال ثمانينيات القرن العشرين، تم تطوير أنظمة التيار الوحيد لإنتاج محلول واحد هو HOCI بدون أي مُركبات ثانوية. 
  • في العصر الحديث، تم تطوير أنظمة التيار الوحيد لتدوم أطول ولتُنتج محلول أكثر استقراراً. 
  • لماذا حمض هيبوكلوروس أكثر كفاءة في قتل مُسببات الأمراض؟ 

    حمض هيبوكلوروس (HOCI) في مُقابل هيبوكلوريت الصوديوم (الكلور) 

    تحمل أيونات هيبوكلوريت شُحنة سالبة، في حين لا يحمل حمض هيبوكلوروس أي شُحنة. يتحرك حمض هيبوكلوروس بسرعة ويُهاجم البكتيريا خلال ثواني، في حيث قد تستغرق أيونات هيبكلوريت حتى نصف ساعة لإتمام نفس المهمة. تحمل الجراثيم شُحنات سالبة والتي تؤدي إلى تنافر أيون هيبوكلوريت ذو الشحنة السالبة؛ ما يجعل أيون هيبوكلوريت أقل كفاءةً في قتل الجراثيم. يتم تحديد النسبة بين المُركبين وفقاً للحموضة النسبية (pH) للماء. يستطيع خُبراء مُعالجة المياه التحكم في مستويات الحموضة ليُهيمن حمض هيبوكلوروس على المحلول، وذلك لأنه أكثر كفاءةً في قتل البكتيريا. يفتقد حمض هيبوكلوروس للشحنات، ما يجعله أكثر قُدرة على اختراق حواجز الحماية التي تُحيط بالجراثيم. 

    الاستخدام المنزلي لحمض هيبوكلوروس 

      أنظمة التحليل الكهربي المنزلية 
    هناك العديد من أنظمة التحليل الكهربي المنزلية التي تم تطويرها لإنتاج حمض هيبوكلوروس مُستقر باستخدام ملح الطعام والماء. يتم أحياناً إضافة الخل المُقطر لتقليل الأس الهيدروجيني ليطغى حمض هيبوكلوروس على المحلول. عند اختيار النظام المنزلي، من الهام أن تضع في اعتبارك جودة خلية التحليل الكهربي. قد لا يُكلفك النظام ذو الكفاءة الأعلى مبلغاً أكبر من المال، ولكنه سيدوم أطول نظراً لطول العمر الافتراضي للسبائك المصنوع منها الخلايا. 

      ما هي فوائده؟ 
    على عكس الكلور، فإن حمض هيبوكلوروس آمن 100% ولا يُسبب التهيج. إذا تعرضت بشرتك أو عينك له، فلن يُسبب التهيج. حتى إذا قمت بابتلاعه عن طريق الخطأ، فلن يتسبب بأي ضرر. أجل. إنه أكثر كفاءة من الكلور في قتل الميكروبات المُسببة للأمراض ب70-80 مرة. 

      أين يُمكن استخدامه؟ 
    في المنزل، حمض هيبوكلوروس مُفيد في أي مكان تحتاج فيه إلى مُطهر، ولكنك لن تشعر بالاطمئنان عند استخدام مادة كيميائية سامة. ولعل أحد أبرز الأمثلة المطبخ. بدلاً من شطف الخضراوات بالماء، يُمكنك استخدام حمض هيبوكلوروس. أو عند تعقيم أدوات العناية الشخصية كفرشاة الأسنان أو أمواس الحلاقة، فإن حمض هيبوكلوروس آمن. وإذا رغبت في تطهير الملابس دون إتلافها أو إفساد ألوانها، فإن حمض هيبوكلوروس هو الخيار الأمثل. 

    على الرغم أن حمض هيبوكلوروس لا يؤثر على ألوان الأقمشة، إلا أن بعض الأقمشة ذات الأصباغ الرديئة قد تبهت ألوانها عند تعرضها لحمض هيبوكلوروس.

    الاستخدام التجاري لحمض هيبوكلوروس 

      التحليل الكهربي عبر الخلية الغشائية 
    تطورت التكنولوجيا وراء إنتاج حمض هيبوكلوروس بشكل كبير خلال الـ20 عاماً الماضية. لطالما كانت التقنية الأكثر استخداماً هي تقنية التحليل الكهربي عبر الخلية الغشائية والتي تستخدم الضغط العالي لإجبار الماء المالح للانقسام إلى مجريين مُنفصلين، مجرى حمضي وآخر قلوي. يحتوي المجرى الحمضي على حمض هيبوكلوروس (HOCI)، وهو ما يُطلق عليه اسم العامل المؤكسد، والمجرى القلوي الذي يحتوي على هيدروكسيد الصوديوم (NaOH)، وهو ما يُطلق عليه اسم العامل المُختزل. من مزايا تلك الأنظمة أنه يتم إنتاج محلولين ذوي فائدة، مُطهر ومزيل دهون. ولكن عيب هذه الأنظمة هو أنها كانت غالية، تتطلب صيانة مُستمرة، وقد ينتج عنها محاليل غير مُستقرة التي تخسر خصائصها المؤكسدة-المختزلة (ORP) خلال وقت قصير. 

      التحليل الكهربي عبر الخلية الوحيدة 
    تم تخطي العديد من تلك العقبات بعد تطوير التحليل الكهربي عبر الخلية الوحيدة. لا يحتاج التحليل الكهربي عبر الخلية الوحيدة إلى استخدام الضغط العالي عبر غشاء، وبالتالي، لا يحتاج إلى صيانة. ونظراً لأن تقنية التحليل الكهربي عبر الخلية الوحيدة لا تقوم بإجبار المحلول الملحي للانقسام إلى تيارين مُنفصلين ذوي خصائص مؤكسدة-مختزلة وأس هيدروجيني مُضاد، فيتم إنتاج محلول أكثر استقراراً، محلول لا يُحاول العودة إلى التعادل. تُنتج أنظمة الخلية الوحيدة محلول واحد فقط، وهو محلول يتكون عند القطب الموجب ذو حموضة تتراوح بين 5 و 7. هذه الدرجة من الحموضة مثالية لإنتاج حمض هيبوكلوروس، وذلك فيما يتعلق باستقراره وكفاءته كمطهر. 

    قد يتآكل الحديد المُسلح أيضاً إذا تم غمره في حمض هيبوكلوروس عالي التركيز (>200 جزء في المليون) لفترات طويلة.

    سلامة الغذاء 

    أغلب الأبحاث التي تم إجراءها على التطبيق العملي لحمض هيبوكلوروس كانت في مجال سلامة الغذاء. منذ توقيع قانون تحديث سلامة الغذاء (FMSA) ليقع حيز التنفيز عام 2011، تحول التركيز من الاستجابة للتلوث إلى منعه. لم يتم إجراء أبحاث وفهم مُطهر للغذاء أكثر من حمض هيبوكلوروس. يُشير البحث بوضوح إلى أن حمض هيبوكلوروس آمن وعالي الكفاءة ويضمن أن يظل عدد البكتيريا أقل من المُستويات الناقلة للعدوى على الغذاء والأسطح. 

      تعقيم الأسطح 

      حمض هيبوكلوروس مُقابل الأمونيوم الرباعي (Quats) 
    يتمتع حمض هيبوكلوروس بمزايا تفوق الكيماويات الاخرى مثل Quats في تطهير الأسطح المُلامسة للغذاء نظراً لأنها غير آمنة على الغذاء. قبل التنظيف باستخدم الأمونيوم الرباعي، يجب إزالة جميع الأغذية من المنطقة قبل البدء بالتعقيم. هذا غير مطلوب عند استخدام حمض هيبوكلوروس يُمكن استخدام حمض هيبوكلوروس باستمرار طوال يوم العمل بصرف النظر عن وجود غذاء مكشوف من عدمه. 

      التطهير المُباشر للغذاء 

      حمض هيبوكلوروس مُقابل الأوزون 
    يتفوق حمض هيبوكلوروس على الأوزون. الأوزون غاز وغير مُستقر في المحلول، وبالتالي، لا يُمكن استخدامه لتطهير الأسطح. على الرغم من ذلك، يتم استخدام الأوزون لتطهير الغذاء، ولكن يجب أن يتم إنتاجه بشكل مُستمر نظراً لأنه يُغادر المحلول إلى الجو. ونظراً لكون الأوزون غاز يُسبب التهيج للرئتين والقنوات التنفسية، فإن استخدام الأوزون مقصور على التركيز الذي يُمكن استخدامه. لذا، فإن الحد من قدرات الأكسدة التي يُمكن الحصول عليها لقتل مُسببات الأمراض المجهرية. حمض هيبوكلوروس هو حمض لا يُسبب التهيج، كما أنه محلول مُستقر. يُمكن استخدام حمض هيبوكلوروس بتركيز عالي (60 جزء في المليون) لتطهير الغذاء بدون الحاجة لشطفه. 

    أجاز تقرير مُلامسة الغذاء الذي أصدرته إدارة الغذاء والدواء 1811 استخدام حمض هيبوكلوروس على الفواكه والخضراوات الطازجة، الأسماك والمأكولات البحرية، اللحوم، الدواجن، والبيض بتركيز حتى 60 جزء في المليون. Sanitizing Leafy Greens
     EcoloxTech
       Learn more about HOCl

Hypochlorous Acid

HOCl

An oxidant the human body produces to protect and heal, learn why it's now considered nature's germ killer. 

About Hypochlorous Acid - HOCl 

What is HOCl? 

Quick Facts 

  • HOCl is the scientific formula for hypochlorous acid, a weak acid similar to that of a mild citrus juice. 
  • HOCl is made naturally by white blood cells in all mammals for healing and protection. 
  • HOCl is a powerful oxidant that is effective against invading bacteria, fungi, and viruses. 
  • Generating HOCl by running electricity through a solution of saltwater was discovered in 1970s. 
  • HOCl is now used in healthcare, food safety, water treatment, and general sanitation. 
  • How is HOCl made? 

    History of Electrolysis 

  • Michael Faraday founded the laws of electrolysis and it became commercially available in the 1870s. 
  • Generating HOCl from the electro-chemical activation (ECA) of salt water was developed in the 1970s. 
  • Early ECA technology used membranes to force saltwater into two solutions of HOCl and NaOH. 
  • In the 1980s, single stream systems were developed that produced one solution of HOCl without byproduct. 
  • In recent, single stream systems have been innovated to last longer and generate more stable solutions. 
  • Why is HOCl more efficient at killing pathogens? 

    Hypochlorous Acid (HOCl) vs. Sodium Hypochlorite (Chlorine Bleach) 

    Hypochlorite ion carries a negative electrical charge, while hypochlorous acid carries no electrical charge. The hypochlorous acid moves quickly, able to oxidize the bacteria in a matter of seconds, while the hypochlorite ion might take up to a half hour to do the same. Germ surfaces carry a negative electrical charge which results in a repulsion of the negatively charged hypochlorite ion to the area of the germ surfaces, making hypochlorite ion less effective at killing germs. The ratio of the two compounds is determined by the relative acidity (pH) of the water. Water treatment specialists can adjust the pH level to make hypochlorous acid more dominate, as it is more efficient at killing bacteria. The hypochlorous acid's lack of electrical charge allows it to more efficiently penetrate the protective barriers surrounding germs. 

    Home use of HOCl 

      Home Electrolysis Systems 
    There are several home electrolysis systems that have been developed that can generate stable hypochlorous acid using table salt and water. Distilled vinegar is sometimes added to lower the pH allowing for a solution of free chlorine more dominated by the hypochlorous acid molecule. When choosing a home system, an important factor to consider is the quality of the electrolysis cell. Higher quality systems may cost more but will last much longer due to the durability of the alloys in the metals used to make the cells. 

      What are the benefits? 
    Hypochlorous acid, unlike chlorine bleach, is 100% safe and non-irritant. If it gets on your skin or in your eyes, it will not burn. Even if it were accidentally ingested, it is completely harmless. Yet, it is 70-80 times more efficient at killing microbial pathogens than chlorine bleach. 

      Where can it be used? 
    In the home, hypochlorous acid is useful anywhere you need a sanitizer but don't feel comfortable using a toxic chemical. A perfect example is in the kitchen. Instead of rinsing leafy greens with water, use hypochlorous acid. Or for pesonal items such as toothbrushes or razors, hypochlorous acid is safe. Want to sanitize laundry without damaging or discoloring clothing, hypochlorous acid is the answer. 

    Although hypochlorous acid usually does not cause bleaching or discoloration, some lower quality dyes may bleed when exposed to hypochlorous acid.

    Commercial use of HOCl 

      Membrane Cell Electrolysis 
    The technology behind generating hypochlorous acid has evolved tremendously over the past 20 years. The market used to be dominated by membrane cell electrolysis that used high pressures to force saltwater into two separate streams, an acidic stream and an alkaline stream. The acidic stream would contain hypochlorous acid (HOCl), the anolyte or oxidizing agent, and the alkaline stream would contain sodium hydorixde (NaOH), the catholyte or reducing agent. The benefit of these systems were that two useful solutions were generated, a sanitizer and a degreaser. The downside of these systems were that they were expensive, required high maintenance, and would generate unstable solutions that lost their oxidation-reduction potential (ORP) within a short period of time. 

      Single Cell Electrolysis 
    With the development of single cell electrolysis, many of these obstacles were overcome. Single cell electrolysis does not use high pressures across a membrane therefore little to no maintenance is required. And because single cell electrolysis does not force the saltwater into two streams of opposite oxidation-reduction potential and opposite pH, a more stable solution is generated, a solution that is not seeking to regain an equilibrium. Single cell systems generate only one solution, an anolyte in the pH range of 5 to 7. This pH range is optimal for hypochlorous acid in regards to stability and effectiveness as a sanitizer. 

    Stainless steel can corrode as well if submersed in high concentrations of hypochlorous acid (>200 ppm) for extended periods of time.

    Food Safety 

    The majority of the research that has been done regarding the practical applications of hypochlorous acid has been in the field of food safety. Since the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) was signed into law in 2011, the focus of food safety has shifted from responding to contamination to preventing it. There is probably no food sanitizer more researched and more understood than hypochlorous acid. The research clearly demonstrates that hypochlorous acid is safe and efficient for ensuring microbial counts are maintained below infectious levels on food and contact surfaces. 

      Surface Sanitation 

      Hypochlorous Acid vs. Quaternary Ammonium (Quats) 
    Hypochlorous acid has advantages over chemicals such as Quats when sanitizing food contact surfaces because Quats are not safe on food. Before cleaning with Quats, all food must be removed from the area before sanitation can take place. This is not required when using hypochlorous acid. Hypochlorous acid can be used continuously throughout the work day regardless of whether food is exposed. 

      Direct Food Sanitation 

      Hypochlorous Acid vs. Ozone 
    Hypochlorous acid has advantages over ozone. Ozone is a gas and is not stable in solution therefore it cannot be used to sanitize contact surfaces. Ozone is however used for food sanitation however it must continuously be regenerated as it is continuously leaving solution into the air. Being that ozone is an irritant to the lungs and respiratory tracts, ozone is limited in the concentrations that can be used, therefore limiting the oxidation potential that can be obtained for killing microbial pathogens. Hypochlorous acid is non-irritant and is also stable in solution. Hypochlorous acid can be used at high concentrations (60 ppm) for food sanitation without requring a post-rinse. 

    The FDA Food Contact Notification 1811 allows for hypochlorous acid to be used on raw or processed fruits & vegetables, fish & seafood, meat, poultry and shell eggs at up to 60 ppm. Sanitizing Leafy Greens
     EcoloxTech
       Learn more about HOCl